There are more alternatives to whole milk than ever before, including oat milk. But is oat milk gluten free? Here's what you need to know.
Our editors and experts handpick every product we feature. We may earn a commission from your purchases.
There are more alternatives to whole milk than ever before, including oat milk. But is oat milk gluten free? Here's what you need to know.
Our editors and experts handpick every product we feature. We may earn a commission from your purchases.
A few years ago, soy milk was one of the only non-dairy milk options available on the market. These days, we can’t seem to keep up with all the plant-based milk options hitting the grocery store.
Oat milk is the latest trendy addition to the non-dairy milk craze. People can’t seem to get enough oat milk, whether it’s in lattes or ice cream. It might be because oat milk tastes pretty close to the real thing. It’s thick and creamy and has a touch of natural sweetness, just like whole milk. But it’s 100% plant-based, nut-free, and soy-free.
While oat milk may be an excellent alternative for plant-based foodies and people with food allergies and sensitivities, it may not be the best choice for people who follow a gluten-free diet. Keep reading to find out why.
Most oat milk is made by adding rolled oats to water, blending the mixture together, and then straining the pulp. The result is a non-dairy liquid that has a natural sweetness and creamy texture.
Packaged oat milks usually have a few more ingredients like added vitamins and minerals, flavoring, and sometimes stabilizers, gums, preservatives, and sugar.
Most oat milk is dairy-free, nut-free, and soy-free, but oat milk’s nutritional value varies pretty widely depending on the product.
For example, some oat milks have added oils and sugars that drastically increase the product’s fat and carbohydrate content. Others are fortified with additional vitamins and minerals, such as calcium and vitamin D, that we would normally find in a standard glass of milk.
One cup (240 ml) of a generic unsweetened and fortified oat milk has the following nutrients:
In general, most oat milks have about the same number of calories as whole milk. Oat milk, however, has a somewhat higher carbohydrate content and a little less protein. But, unlike whole milk, oat milk has more fiber and little to no saturated fat, making it a great heart-healthy alternative to full-fat cow’s milk.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and other derivatives of these grains. It gives dough its elasticity and helps bind foods together, making it a common food additive in processed foods like condiments.
The popularity of gluten-free diets has skyrocketed in recent years. People embrace this diet trend to help with weight loss, digestive conditions, autoimmune disease, hormone imbalances, and even acne.
However, going gluten-free isn’t exactly the cure-all people imagine. Yes, some people benefit from following a gluten-free diet—like those with celiac disease, wheat allergies, and gluten sensitivities—but definitely not everyone.
If you have celiac disease, a wheat allergy, or a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, it’s important for you to be aware that not all oat milk is gluten-free.
Oats are naturally gluten-free but are often contaminated with gluten because they are typically processed in the same facility and on the same equipment as other grains that contain gluten. Unfortunately, it’s difficult to know exactly how much gluten is in your average oat product. Most commercially available oats don’t test to see if they contain gluten.
There is some insight into the gluten content of oats from a 2016 review study in the Canadian Journal of Gastroenterology and Hepatology that found most oats in North America and Europe contain well over the recommended 20 parts per million (ppm) to be considered gluten-free.
That said, people with celiac disease and wheat allergies need to be especially careful about consuming oat products like oat milk because it may be likely that they too contain trace amounts of gluten.
Thankfully, many companies and facilities that make oat milk are aware of the cross-contamination issue with gluten and oats and make certified gluten-free products.
Here are a few of our favorite gluten-free oat milk brands:
Oat milk is a tasty and nutritious plant alternative to cow’s milk. It’s a great option for people who want a creamy, non-dairy option or have food allergies and intolerances to dairy products and nuts.
While oats are naturally gluten-free, they have a high risk of cross-contamination with gluten. Therefore, people with celiac disease and wheat allergies should choose certified gluten-free oat milk products to prevent health concerns related to cross-contamination of gluten in oats.
Depending on the individual, people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity may be less sensitive to cross-contamination and can potentially tolerate oat milk from non-certified gluten-free oats.
For a daily dose of wisdom, subscribe to The Healthy by Reader’s Digest newsletter and follow The Healthy on Facebook and Instagram. Keep reading: